I swear I’m knitting something!

Have you ever just cast on a random amount of stitches on your circulars and started knitting with no particular pattern in mind? A few days ago I did just that. I CO 84 stitches and just started working seed stitch. For about an inch. After that I wanted to carve my eyeballs out with a spoon. So I switched to stockinette, where you knit every row and when you’re doing this in the round it makes a nice smooth surface. After three rows of stockinette I put it down and haven’t been able to look at it without a sense of disgust. So booooring!

I’m going to frog it. I think. Eventually. I can do it without tears. Really!

2 responses to “I swear I’m knitting something!

  1. Knitting, as with life needs a pattern,some thing in your mind that you are trying to achieve. I can tell you from experience the end result for going patternless/aimless for both endeavors is always the same. A hot shot of mess!

  2. Lol, I think that some need order and some need spontaneity. I’m more spontaneous ever since I realized that every time I went outside the box something grand would happen – working in the woods, travelling to Quebec, meeting the love of my life and some of the most wonderful people ever. Nowadays my version of spontaneity only extends to knitting, gardening, and whether or not to add a shot of espresso to my hot chocolate. The gardening thing was a bit of a problem last year as I misjudged my recycled seeds and planted 10 pumpkins instead of butternut squash. Turned out ok though since we used them for Halloween! That’s what happens when you let a toddler plant your seeds with you.

Leave a Reply

